Por Favor Numero Dos

QandA logoI need your help.

I am toying with the idea of creating A Blog for Archery Parents. There are few sources of information tailored to help them support their children in the sport. About the only example of something specific is my book A Parent’s Guide to Archery.

To help me decide whether to do this I would like your take on this idea, specifically if you would respond to these three questions:APGTA Cover (color)

#1 Do you think this would be helpful to archery parents?

#2 Assuming the quality of that blog was comparable to the quality of this blog, would you recommend it to the parents of the youths you coach?

#3 Any other insight you might be able to supply.

If I do this I would like to do a good job. I started this blog because there seemed to be so little support available to archery coaches. The same motivation is fueling the idea of a similar blog directed at archery parents. Quality information and a place they could ask questions without necessarily anyone else knowing. (Hint, hint, nudge, nudge, know what I mean.”) Parents need advice and the sources of that advice are few in number and often supplied only orally, so if part of it is gotten wrong, expensive mistakes can be made.

So, what do you think?

10 Comments

Filed under For All Coaches, Q & A

10 responses to “Por Favor Numero Dos

  1. David Beeton

    I think it’s a great idea. (Brownie points alert: I am already using your book to give parents a head start in the equipment areas, after talking them through the subtle differences between the American scene and the British!)

  2. Patrick

    Hi Steve,
    #1 Yes it would be useful !
    #2 yes too, the only limit is the language for the parents (I write from France)
    #3 you could speak about the kids, on a holistic approach. mind, strength, situation relative to adults, and then archery.
    I think it would be usefull for the archers who teach archery to the kids too , because they are a bridge between archery and the the parents.

    Thank you
    Patrick , archer an coach since 1985.

    • Thank you Patrick.
      If you are adept at translating and think it would be helpful, you are welcome to translate any blog posts of mine and post them in French. At one point we had a partner in Europe who was to translate all of our issues of Archery Focus into German, French, Spanish, and Italian. We failed to attract enough subscribers to make it worth the effort (plus the partner did the translating and I still had to do the layout, so quality control was a real issue).
      Steve
      PS I love France. Are you working there or are you a real Frank?

      • Patrick

        Hi Steeve,
        I can translate some articles, at my skill in English. ;o).
        I already have contributed to forums on archery, several years ago and sometimes write on radio Ham forums in English too .

        Yes I live and work in France, in a vilage named Cysoing. I am project manager in informatics for a company equivalent of your Wallmart (smaller in France…) called “Auchan”.
        I shoot compound since 1987, was one of the firsts compounds in my country , when compound bows were considered as a bow “for disabled persons”…My wife is a classical archer too.

        in the board of my club since 20 years I animated the “elite team” of my county during several years in the 90s. But I was conscious of the weakness of teaching and improving pedagogy in France, that remains desperately true today; I take a lot of informations from US (books, web …). I found your site looking for information about aiming and holding the bow. As I have less time than before to practise, I must be more efficient and need to get tools that allows me to not forget the gesture and improve my shoot.
        Happy to have met you, on the grid !
        Thank you
        Patrick

      • Please feel free to ask any questions you have (gives me ideas to write on) and if I can support you in any way in your coaching efforts, please let me know.

        Send me an email at my personal address (ruis.steve@gmail.com) and I will respond with a PDF version of one of my more recent coaching books. If you find it helpful, please write a positive review on Amazon.com for me!

        Steve

        On Wed, Sep 14, 2016 at 9:54 AM, A Blog for Archery Coaches wrote:

        >

  3. Hi Steve,
    I’m Ferry (43 yrs old, male) from Jakarta, Indonesia. I’m new to (recurve) archery. But, I managed to start an archery club (I’m a High School teacher by profession). It’s been easy to start one. Most of the club members are children (ages 8-15).

    However, there aren’t many sources of information about archery in our language, more so about coaching. So, when I came across your page, I was able to answer lots of questions that came from club members here.

    English isn’t a mainstream language here, but we do have strong archery culture. Do you know If your books, especially “A parent’s guide to archery”, are available in Indonesia?

    Once again, thanks for the blog.

    • All of our books are available from Amazon.com (I don’t know if there is a branch in your country). We are trying to make all of our books available as e-books, which makes them much easier to deliver, but we do not yet have all of our books available in that format. If you can’t acquire the books you want, let me know and we will work out something.

      And feel free to send questions to me that you have about archer or running a program.

      Good luck,

      Steve Ruis

  4. waltinpa

    I’m not sure that my input is ideal. I’m kind of in the middle…

    I’m a member at a club that hosts a weekly Youth Program. It is open to the public and free to attend (we supply Genesis bows and arrows). It has been a great way to promote the sport to kids in the community. Two years ago I took a course to become a USA Archery Level 1 instructor so that I could lend a hand.

    Our club’s Level 3 instructor will be holding a Level 2 course in December and I’m signed up to attend. I’m doing it for two reasons. The first is that it is a simple way to expand my education on the subject. The second is that I’ve been considering starting a JOAD program – something more formalized than our free Youth Program.

    I also have a daughter that is 6 years old. She has been shooting a bow, off and on, since she was 3. She has shown a lot more interest in the past few months so I went ahead and purchased her a new compound bow to grow with.

    Knowing my daughter’s competitive drive, I suspect that as she gets more proficient, she’ll want to get more involved in the sport and attend events. She is a big reason I’m looking at JOAD – I want her to have a place where she can be competitive and learn with other kids.

    As I said, this kind of puts me in the middle. I’m not a coach and my child isn’t actively competing or working with a coach. With that said…

    1) Do I think a blog geared towards parents would be helpful? Absolutely. I know a few parents from the club that aren’t involved in archery bt have children that are competitive. They were all sort of thrown into the deep end and didn’t really have a resource for information.

    2) Would I recommend the blog based on this one? I’m new here, so I don’t have a lot of experience. From what I’ve read so far, it seems like a solid source of information. I’d certainly pass the blog along.

    3) Any additional insights? I don’t think I have anything to add to what I’ve already said. Hopefully, you can find something useful in my comment.

    • You should know, though, that you are right on the normal arc for an archery coach. Either they were or are an archer and get into coaching because their child became interested in archery and they wanted to help. Some start as archery parents and take up the sport as something to do with their kids. (Archery is one of the few sports that teenagers will willingly do with their parents.)

      Thanks for the feedback and good luck with your daughter.

      PS I wrote a book “Archery 4 Kids” which was written at a 8-11 year old reading level so it might be premature for your daughter and also “A Parent’s Guide to Archery” for people in your situation (if you are already a knowledgeable archer, this is something you might want to recommend to newbie archery parents). My first coaching book, “Coaching Archery,” was written for beginning to intermediate coaches (L1-L2) and you might find it helpful.

      Cheers!

      On Thu, Nov 3, 2016 at 8:41 AM, A Blog for Archery Coaches wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

